Metro Arts Awards Mural Project to Creative Girls Rock

Metro Arts has awarded the design and installation of a mural at the Looby Community Center to Creative Girls Rock.

Metro Arts is proud to announce the award to design and install a mural at the Looby Community Center to Creative Girls Rock, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization serving Nashville young girls and women with opportunities to explore creative arts, youth development, and community engagement.

This Public Art project is an initiative developed through the Mayor’s Participatory Budgeting program for community development in North Nashville, under former Mayor John Cooper. The community requested a mural inspired by Z. Alexander Looby’s life and accomplishments, his pursuit of justice, and his enduring national legacy. The mural will be installed on the 28′ x 96′ western wall of the building, located in the District 2 Buena Vista Heights neighborhood.

The mission of Creative Girls Rock is to educate and empower young girls and women to utilize their creative talents to enhance their lives and the world around them. Their CGR Mural Program, spearheaded by Lead Mural Artist Elisheba Mrozik, teaches participants essential design principles and techniques for crafting uplifting mural paintings. Their work can be found across Nashville including at John Early Middle School, Slim and Husky’s, and The Healing Trust Foundation.

This project is funded in part by the Metropolitan Nashville & Davidson County Participatory Budgeting Program for 2022 for Bordeaux and North Nashville. Additional funds are provided by Metro Nashville’s Percent for Public Art Fund, established in 2000. When completed, the mural will be added to the Metro Public Art Collection.

Source: Read Original Release

Nashville Reaffirms Commitment to Urban Tree Canopy

Mayor Freddie O’Connell has reaffirmed Nashville‘s commitment to protecting and expanding the city’s urban tree canopy through an executive order, amid a record period of tree planting and the formation of a new Sustainability Advisory Committee.