Tennessee’s Mr and Miss Basketball 2024 Winners Announced

2024 Mr. and Miss Basketball winners announced in Tennessee.

The Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association (TSSAA) celebrated the pinnacle of high school basketball talent on Tuesday, March 12, by awarding the prestigious 2024 Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards. The ceremony, held on the floor of Murphy Center at Middle Tennessee State University (MTSU), spotlighted the top players from six classifications, recognizing their exceptional performance during the 2023-2024 season, as well as their academic achievements and character.

The winners were chosen by a statewide committee of sportswriters, taking into account not only the athletes’ prowess on the court but also their academic performance and character. High school head basketball coaches and media members submitted nominations for these coveted awards.

Mark Reeves, Executive Director of the TSSAA, expressed his admiration for the awardees, stating, “This is such an outstanding honor for all 36 of the young men and women recognized this evening at the Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards. They were here not only due to their athletic ability that they displayed on the court throughout the season but just as much for their outstanding character and academic achievements.”

2024 marks the 39th year of the Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards, a tradition that has celebrated Tennessee’s finest high school basketball players since its inception in 1985. Initially sponsored by American General, the Memphis Grizzlies took over sponsorship duties from 2002-2004. Following a period where the awards were presented during post-game trophy ceremonies at championship games, the standalone event once again highlights the best in high school basketball talent in Tennessee.

The winners of the 2024 Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards are as follows: Division II-A Miss Basketball was awarded to Haylen Ayers from USJ, and Kavien Jones from BGA took home the Division II-A Mr. Basketball title. From the larger schools, Imari Berry from Clarksville was named Class 4A Miss Basketball, and Emerson Tenner, Jr. from Cordova received the Class 4A Mr. Basketball award, among other notable winners across different classifications.

The awards ceremony not only serves to recognize individual excellence but also to inspire younger athletes to excel both on the court and in their academic pursuits, embodying the true spirit of high school athletics in Tennessee.


Division II-A Miss Basketball
Haylen Ayers, USJ

Division II-AA Miss Basketball
Sydney Mains, Knoxville Catholic

Class 1A Miss Basketball
Savannah Davis, McKenzie

Class 2A Miss Basketball
Micah Hart, Gibson County

Class 3A Miss Basketball
Celeste Reed, White County

Class 4A Miss Basketball
Imari Berry, Clarksville

Division II-A Mr. Basketball
Kavien Jones, BGA

Division II-AA Mr. Basketball
Tyler Tanner, Brentwood Academy

Class 1A Mr. Basketball
Jordan McCullum, Harriman

Class 2A Mr. Basketball
Jahvin Carter, Alcoa

Class 3A Mr. Basketball
Tyler Lee, Fulton

Class 4A Mr. Basketball
Emerson Tenner, Jr., Cordova

Source: Read Original Release